Whisker Day

 

There are few things in life I can count upon as regularly as my beard. I shave close every morning and the next day there it is again.   My appetites, health and fortune come and go but I can reckon on my whiskers to be there every time.

In the old millennium year ’68 I had a one-week friend named Greg Montano. We met in Hawaii while I was waiting for my ship to come in. (Not a metaphor. I was in the Navy and my ship was on the way.)   Greg was a free spirit floating around the beaches of Hawaii until he got down to the price of an airplane ticket home. We never said goodbye. One day he was just gone or maybe I was.

Eight years later I was working the swing shift at the Holiday Inn La Jolla. Greg walked into the lobby surrounded by a cloud of small children. He was checking in and I was shocked at the profound change in his life station. And by the what-are-the-million-to-one odds of us meeting again. So life is filled with remarkably inconsistent joys and extremely dependable things like whiskers.

When I look at Jesus’ love for me, I find it talking through both of these realms of inconsistency and dependability. Jesus is there every day whether I feel his presence or not. And just when I need him, every decade or so, he pops up at the perfectly right moment.

This is the 2013th celebration of his miraculous, inconceivable, virgin-carried, barn-delivered birth. A less likely story you could not find. That God himself would come down here to this messy manger to love on us. More than any other time of year, people are open to the ChristMas story.   That is the most wonderful gift you can package for those you care about.

Luke 12:7 is detailed in John Gill’s Exposition:   “But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered . . . and kept in account; . . . and not one of them could fall to the ground, any more than a sparrow . . . without the knowledge and will of God; so careful is the providence of God, of all his people:  fear not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows; for if the hairs of their heads are as much regarded as sparrows, their persons and their lives must be of more account than an infinite number of them.”

God loves you no matter what. And sharing the purpose of His Son coming to earth is the best way to show Him your love. Don’t miss the opportunity to tell those you meet about the baby son of a step-father carpenter who became the King of Love in your heart. Hebrews 13:5 . . . be content with the things you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you or forsake you.”

by Bob Bekins,  December 2013

 

Leave a Reply

