Snips 1

A Snip is longer than a Snippet but shorter than an article.  Hope you enjoy these.

Snips 1          snips-1November 2016

Numbers Count

About 15 years ago I took a facilitator-developed course at Emmanuel Faith Church, led by Zack Swinscoe, on the book Wild at Heart by John Eldredge. Then I brought it to my church for the fifteen weekly sessions. This course took about two and a half hours per week to prepare with video clips, thought provoking questions, etc. Fourteen guys signed up. It was a hit so I decided to do it again.  The second time only two men showed up.  I prayed, “Lord, do you really want me to do all this work for only two men?”  He said “Yes.” So we forged ahead.  One of the guys fought me all the way through.  He said it was all junk, irrelevant, and opinionated.  We were in the middle of the last session and he stopped me and said it was wonderful and that he finally understood the whole thing.  Six weeks later, don’t ask me why, I decided to do a third session.  Thirty-five fellows signed up.  There is no way I could have handled facilitating that many people.  Guess who volunteered to split the class with me.  The Guy!  The Lord knew what He was doing with the head counts even when I didn’t.

Communications

The man says to the woman, “If you want a particular answer from me you better tell me before you ask your question.” The woman says to the man, “If you want the question from me, you better tell me what the answer is before I ask it.”

Mimic

Watching my two year old grandson, Caleb, learn the batting fundamentals of T-ball in about two hours, I was once again startled by how he interpreted what we were showing him. Then we took a slow motion video of him to show that jumping in the air before swinging did not work. When we aired the video, he carefully considered what he had seen. Picking up the bat, he did a perfect swing without the jump. However, he did it in slow motion and dinked the ball off the post. He even said, “Whhhhoooooooaaaaa” in a toddler’s version of a bass voice as he came around. He was doing exactly what he perceived we had taught him.

Time

The most important element in investing is time. If I put my money into a stock that runs up quickly I had better be watching it constantly. Should I invest in a well-established, blue-ribbon stock, I must be thinking long term. Reflecting on the spiritual nature of things, how long will my words, my deeds, and my decisions have an impact? Is my time spent here going to provide something of value which will last? How much continuity will be created by my actions? Will my life’s accomplishments be a one-album rock band or a Ludwig Beethoven?

Leave a Reply

